• Home
  • News
  • Former President Koroma Leads Ecowas Observer Mission to Benin

Former President Koroma Leads Ecowas Observer Mission to Benin

Former president, H.E. Ernest Bai Koroma

Former Sierra Leone President Ernest Bai Koroma is expected to depart Freetown today at the head of an ECOWAS Observer Mission to the Presidential Election in the Benin Republic. The election is slated for 11th April 2021. 

Koroma is leading an eighty- member observer mission that includes experts from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of Member States, ECOWAS Ambassadors accredited to ECOWAS headquarters in the Nigerian capital, Abuja, members of the ECOWAS Court of Justice, members of the ECOWAS Parliament, representatives of the electoral commissions of the Member States, civil society organisations, media and other experts from the region.

Extending the invitation to President Koroma, the President of the ECOWAS Commission, Mr Jean – Claude Kassi Brou, said that the decision for the ex-Sierra Leonean head of state to lead the Mission was for the Commission to once again benefit from his rich experience, diplomatic skills, and leadership demonstrated over the years.

According to the provisions of Article 14 of the Supplementary Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance, the objectives of this Mission include: (a) to engage all key stakeholders to engender consensus for peaceful election and acceptance of the outcome thereof; (b) Establish co-operation links with Non–Governmental Organisations (NGO’s) and other election observer teams to build synergy and work together in the overall interest of the country.

“I am committed to ECOWAS’s aspiration for peaceful, smooth and democratic elections across the region and will continue to do my utmost in support of the provisions of Article 14 of the ECOWAS Supplementary Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance”, said President Koroma in a statement issued by the Commission.

During this Mission, President Koroma is scheduled to hold consultations with the various stakeholders, including government officials, members of the electoral commission, political parties, civil society groups, the media, members of the diplomatic corps and other international observer groups.

Related posts

3 SLBC Staff Resign


Daddy Saj Foundation Donates School Materials to Kroobay Community


‘Office of Clerk of Parliament Should Be Non-Partisan’ -EU Consultant


Leave a Comment